Winter

See winter spreading its wings,

My child

Just as frozen as the lake

So are you

Your cheeks

Frosty steel blades

Your eyes

Cold as snow

See winter outside

My child

 

See the bird on the broken branch,

My child

Just as silent and mute as it

So are you

The branch is withered long ago

Cold and dead,

See the bird outside, my child

 

Watch the storm clouds on the sky, my child

Just as soft and cool as them

So are you

Their depths will consume you

If allowed

Hide from them and you will see how

See the storm clouds outside, my child

 

The winter consumes all

So you are excused

For withering

I see but pay no attention

Your heart is stone,

Your eyes are ice

See the winter outside my child

You are the winter.

Leave a Reply

