Achievement

Like a supersonic

Aeroplane

Or a rocket

Heading for Mars

I ascended

Defying gravity.

 

Wings borne upon

Winds of love

Spreading across the sky.

 

I overshadowed the

Lesser men

In their conservatism

And controversy;

And how they cried,

Feeling sorry for themselves

Angry with my achievement.

 

They hurled at me

With rocks of fire

Telling me to get down

Back to Earth,

And not seek

Insecure redemption in

Infinite space.

 

I cannot stop the engine,

I cannot rewind;

I cannot jam the brakes

Or pull the plug.

 

And I will not apologize

For this achievement

Of mine.

Leave a Reply

